I just created a Vimeo account, so now I have accounts for both YouTube and Vimeo for people to watch my films. Finally I’ve uploaded my latest project Flood Sequence ! So now you have a choice of which one to view, better yet why not check out both! haha

This is the artist statement explaining the project I handed in as part of my major studies:

“My film projects this Honours year, particularly Flood Sequence (1:08 mins, three screen video)  seek to manifest the tension between tangible elements such as science and religion, the human body and its necessities, historical events/scriptures and mythical stories into a visual rhythm. The function of absurdity in the fantasy genre and the metaphoric temperament of natural disaster that parallels science fiction apocalyptic visions are present in the work also. The internal logic of the work derives from the medium itself, from the malleability and temporality of the blackboard as a surface and the chalk I use to draw each frame. This ephemeral aspect coalesced with the fluctuating nature of animation gives way for understanding of the film and it’s medium.

Animation in the field of contemporary art however adds extra dimension to the purpose of animation production. Examples of artists who have been exhibiting these ideas are Tabaimo, Nathalie Djurberg, the collective IC-98 and William Kentridge amongst others. I have also been influenced by writers such as Albert Camus (The Myth of Sisyphus) and Roland Barthes (Mythologies), writings on Japanese cinema and anime, such as Phillip Brophy, film-makers Hayao Miyazaki, Michel Gondry and Guy Maddin.

My practice involves attempts at negating the predictability of a structural narrative and of traditional animation. I am aiming to maintain an agenda that is focused on creating films that are visually and ideologically stimulating with multiple ambiguous narratives. The cycle which is a recurrent theme in the work, is metaphoric for the nature of human life, the eternal cycle but also the morbidity that is the inescapable truth that one day one’s cycle of life will be terminated. This can also evoke the sense of restlessness and pending answers to existential questions. These concepts come together through an intuitive working process but also with the consideration for a visual dynamic.”

katpig

