. I experimented with a few ways of accentuating the nature of clothes. The approach I was most happy with was creating narratives within the photo to give individual items of clothing a life. This approach involved threading wire through garments to prop them up. I placed clothes in poses that imitated what humans do. I feel like the end product was somewhat melancholic and sad yet humourous. Humour was an element that inevitably came through in the work. I am always seeking to produce strange happenings and somewhat odd or unexpected personifications out of ordinary objects and spaces. This also ties into my major which is Painting. In which I try to submerge the viewer into a disrupted segment of a story or narrative, whether it be through drawing or film. And so in this same way these photos are taken in the middle of an event; there is no beginning and there is no end to their story. We haven’t seen them come to life off the floor exactly but these characters are in motion, going about their own lives as if they were people; yet we don’t even see them. From this perspective then the artwork is not meant to be funny if these people are appearing as lost or forgotten souls. They could even resemble ghosts floating about unnoticed which is something I had not thought of while taking the photos but has become apparent afterwards. The figures take on a creepy appearance of being transparent yet materially real at the same time. That tension and contradiction is what interests me; to be funny and creepy simultaneously. Which brings me to the explanation that these photographs could be portraits of ‘the undead’; a mythical state where the being has died but is still living. However this concept then takes on the humourous role again. So the work for me really is a paradox. In this series there is also a commentary on the nature of objects and possessions. Why we buy the things we do and how we personify these objects, for example clothing, furniture and ornaments etc. Because all of these things don’t make us who we are yet we think they do. Clothing is the best example of this where your clothes can instantly tell some one else about you, somehow. There are certain clothes that connect you to a certain group, like religious groups, social groups etc. And of course there are gender differences in clothes and this interests me because in many of my photos you can’t tell the gender (except for the dress). And I wonder if this affects the way they are viewed or if it’s something that isn’t even thought about.

Altogether this project was about exploring the nature of clothes and hidden identities with playfulness and a comical melancholy.

katpig

